The historic end of USS Enterprise

 

The end of a historic ships deployment.

The end of a historic ships deployment.

John’s Homecoming

Do you know what it’s like without your brother for nearly 9 months? Picture your family without your most favorite family member. It’s like making a fire without a match. So, when we went to Virginia, my excitement rocketed past Jupiter to Pluto. My favorite brother was coming home. Picture your family without your most favorite family member. It’s like making a fire without a match. So, when we went to Virginia, my excitement rocketed past Jupiter to Pluto. My favorite brother was coming home. There was a lot to prepare for the homecoming. The first thing was going to the night before party. It is when you go to the base and there is a big ball, where military families go. They have a children’s corner. In there you can make homecoming signs. They had clowns that made balloons. I got a brown sea turtle. On my sign, I made a picture of the Enterprise, that’s my brother’s ship; it said “welcome Home John”.

They had the biggest and most amazing cake. It was a grand structure that was grey. It was an exact replica of John’s ship. They water, blue icing, and lights for the runway and planes. Songs from the D.J. permeated the room. People were dancing because their family members were coming home the very next day at the end of deployment.

Eh- Eh- Eh- .”Sigh” Beep to stop the noise. Do we have to get up? “Yes “said Mom .It’s John’s Homecoming. I shouted excitedly. John was finally coming home! Yawn, Isabelle rolled out of bed lazily. Wow that was fast dad pointed out.come on I said. Geez Nate some people still have to get dressed! As mom opened the car door heat pelted us“Ohh’’ mom said “6:02’’ Isabelle blurted where did you come from?  And correction its 3:02 in Cali I said. “What” she said even louder. “Be quiet people are sleeping” Dad exclaimed! TEN HOURS LATER. Good we are at the shipyard. The clock read 4:02.there’s Jon’s ship I blurted. Let’s get some food first “Come on it will be a while” mom said. While I smothered myself in a hotdog, Isabelle found the bouncy houses. A PA announced The Enterprise is pulling into port. “That’s All” Just then we saw Mitt Romney’s Campaign bus! I got to sign the bus, “They are coming off “someone said. I heard someone shout .I spotted John nearly right away. John – John, I shouted. I ran to him, nearly knocking over a Senior Chief! When John goes to the rest of the family, we took pictures.

As we walked back to our car, tears flooded Mom’s eyes. As we hopped in the car, Isabelle and I debated who got to sit next to John. Then we decided he should sit in the middle.so we could share him .During the drive home, I asked John about the medals I had found on the ground during the walk back to the car. It felt really good to have my brother back home and ask him questions in person and not in email. I will never forget the day my brother came home.Image

Leave a Reply

