D.C. Memories with plenty of Thank you’s

I spent the Day enjoying our Nations Capitol. I never thought I would get a history lesson from someone who actually lived through it. I met Harry Flemings in the cab we took. HE was 93 year old man who has driven a cab for 68 year in Washington D.C. Imagine how incredible it was to hear his stories of MLK’s march in Washington. He said he was in the March. MLK  JR. Is one of my heroes,  I felt like I was right there the way Harry described it to me. He also showed us the Watergate hotel and the Kennedy Center for the ARTS. I am really glad I got to meet a part of  Living History!

 

nate and taxi driver Harry Flemming.

 

Another exciting part of the day was going to the Vietnam memorial. We did a rubbing for one of our family friends. HIs Dad was killed in Vietnam. While we were there , I met two Korean War vets. I have this campaign I started in California to thank any service member I see for their service. The look on his face when I thanked him was unbelievable. He said to me”Thank you , you are a great young man and I hope you never have to serve, but I know you would do a good job if you do. ” it made me think how important it is to thank all our service members old and present. They gave us so much we can not repay.

photo (5)

 

I saw a shirt that said it is never too late to say Thank You .

rubbing dad and sailor

 

So next time you see a vet or a Service member  Thank them for their service!!!!!!

3 thoughts on “D.C. Memories with plenty of Thank you’s

    • HI Chrissy,
      I am so sorry . I have been so busy with school. I spent most of my summer traveling and didnt have a computer. I am a 5th grader and the work load to keep straight A’s is killing me. My New Years Resolution is to make time to blog again . Please look for more posts in 2014.

      • It is tough to keep straight A’s. I am struggling with the same thing. I will look for more posts. I really like your blog.

Leave a Reply

